This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Jan 18, 2013 6:40 AM by 984733 RSS

JPA Criteria Query API  with Complex SQL

984733 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
We're trying to implement JPA 2.0, and replacing a lot of convoluted SQL with the Criteria API in the process. I'm not a SQL guru by any means, and I'm new to JPA/Criteria, but I've read just about everything on it I could find via search engine.

Can the following SQL even be done using Criteria? It's making my head hurt, and I don't want to pursue this any further if it's not even feasible to do.
SELECT T2.TYPE, T2.SERIAL
    FROM TABLE1 T1, TABLE2 T2, TABLE3 T3
        LEFT OUTER JOIN TABLE4 T4 ON T4.EMPNO=T3.BOEMPNO
            WHERE T2.TYPE=T3.TYPE AND T2.SERIAL=T3.SERIAL AND T1.TYPE=T2.TYPE AND T1.SERIAL=T2.SERIAL
Edited by: 981730 on Jan 14, 2013 3:01 PM
  • 1. Re: JPA Criteria Query API  with Complex SQL
    cdelahun Pro
    It is simple. JPA is based on entities, so generally queries would return entity objects but they can be used to return raw data as well if that is required. I'd recommend looking at the JPA 2.0 employee and criteria query examples found here:
    http://wiki.eclipse.org/EclipseLink/Examples/JPA

I don't understand the purpose of the left outer join to T4 though since it is not used in the query.

Best Regards,
    Chris
  • 2. Re: JPA Criteria Query API  with Complex SQL
    984733 Newbie
    Thanks, Chris, for your help!

However, I've already looked at the link you suggested. It shows how to get one entity type from a database. I've seen examples of getting two entites, but the second one is always accessed via a single column. All the examples I have seen in all my JPA reading have been very simplistic.

In my SQL, I have four entities, an explicit join, using two columns, none of which are primary key fields. My problem is not the select to get the columns I want. It's figuring out how to code the from and where clauses on multiple fields and multiple tables.