This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 22, 2013 12:34 AM by Narayan RSS

Pass objects to standalone JavaFX 2 application

943372 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

my application is realized as web application with JSF and partly as JavaFX 2 application. Therefore I have to pass some data from the web world to JavaFX. I successfully tested the communication if the JavaFX application is embedded as applet in the web page. Another thought is to start the JavaFX via web start from the web page and write some attributes to a generated jnlp file. But I have to pass the session information and some selection information to the JavaFX application. Is there another possibility, idea except to go throught the backend and poll from the JavaFX application? Another idea is to use JMS on client side for this inter-process communication, but I have no experiences about that. Has anybody an idea or already done something like that?

Regards
Oliver
  • 1. Re: Pass objects to standalone JavaFX 2 application
    Narayan Pro
    Hi opfl,

As per my knowledge , I would have send the tokenid in the attribute of the JNLP Webstart and the app will launch with that tokenid and link with the web by sending it to server and server validates and run it. But make sure that tokenid gets re-validates and expires as well. All things of token record and generating will be done from server and saved in database.

Thanks
    Narayan
  • 2. Re: Pass objects to standalone JavaFX 2 application
    943372 Newbie
    Hi Narayan,

thanks for your reply. Probably you mean with tokenid the session id. This I could pass via a jnlp property right. But another use case is to update the already opened JavaFX application with an value selected in the web application. Probably ActiveMQ could be a solution by sending the message via JavaScript and receive it in the JavaFX application.
  • 3. Re: Pass objects to standalone JavaFX 2 application
    Narayan Pro
    Hi opfl,