2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 24, 2013 10:53 PM by user2294357 RSS

ExportCollectionActionListener and a User Friendly Error message(I wish)

user2294357
      I am a newbie to ADF and I am in the process of trying out the tutorial "Developing Ajax-Based User Interfaces with ADF Faces Rich Client Components" http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E18941_01/tutorials/jdtut_11r2_56/jdtut_11r2_56.html

I stumbled up on an issue with Step 5, this step is to implement a menu item for Exporting the contents displayed on screen to Excel. I did not read the instructions properly; the instruction very clearly tells you to drop the
      "Export Collection Action Listener" under the menu item; I did not read the key word "under"; instead I dropped right at the same level. Then I tried to run the page and got this very user friendly error that I have been struggling with for the last 4 days. I couldn't figure out what in the world this error message is trying to tell me. Reached a point where I started thinking, this isn't for me.

So today, I decided to save a copy of the page and started reversing the changes; deleted the objects in the reverse order and luckily I figured out what is wrong. I said to myself, Man it shouldn't be this complex. I am sure there is an easier way to figure this out. Now after figuring out what is wrong, when I look at the error stack, I do see the reference to ExportCollectionActionListenerHandler, but that is after 3-4 days of struggle. So can one of you please tell me how in the world I could make heads or tails out of the following error message (due to the fact I did not drop the Export Collection Action Listener on the menu item). Are there any indications of this error in the IDE (JDeveloper). How could I have figured out what is wrong?

java.lang.NullPointerException
           at oracle.adfinternal.view.faces.util.rich.LoggerUtils.getMessage(LoggerUtils.java:26)