4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 8, 2013 6:37 AM by rgouw RSS

How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g?

Abhijit Dutta
      Hi,

How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g? Any docs / steps are available?

~Abhijit
        • 1. Re: How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g?
          Jiri.Machotka-Oracle
          Hi Abhijit,

the best available document I am aware of is here: https://blogs.oracle.com/webcenter/entry/oracle_webcenter_suite_-_givin

If you want further technical details, you may have to contact Oracle Consulting.

Jiri
          • 2. Re: How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g?
            Abhijit Dutta
            Jiri - thanks for your inputs. As I am new to webcenter world, just wanted to know that whether the below doc are sufficient to understand the upgrade process? Is there anything else documented?

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E23943_01/upgrade.1111/e10127/upgrade_webcenter_apps.htm#CIHFJAIF

~Abhijit
            • 3. Re: How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g?
              Jiri.Machotka-Oracle
              As I am new to webcenter world, just wanted to know that whether the below doc are sufficient to understand the upgrade process? Is there anything else documented?
              I'm afraid the answer is: it depends.

The link you mentioned refers to upgrade of WebCenter 10g apps to WebCenter 11g, and certainly, many points will be relevant even for cases of upgrading from Oracle Portal 10g to WebCenter 11g as WebCenter 10g took over AFAIK many Oracle Portal 10g concepts. However, without assessment no will be able to give up-front confirmation that all potential issues of migration are covered.
              • 4. Re: How to upgrade oracle 10g portal to Webcenter 11g?
                rgouw
                Abhijit,

As the architecture and the concepts are quite different in Oracle Portal and Oracle WebCenter Portal, there is no upgrade available out of the box.