This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2013 4:57 AM by vivek lal RSS

For creating new site from Scratch where to start from?

vivek lal Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I have replicated avisport site, edited the same.
I want to create my own site but I am not able to find what will be the order to create a very new site from scratch.

I went through all developer,admin and user guide. I am still not clear about the order of creation of new site.

Please Help

Thanks

Vivek
  • 1. Re: For creating new site from Scratch where to start from?
    jiri.machotka Guru
    Hi Vivek,

I am just studying the same and I have a 40+ pages script which describes how to do it. Unfortunately, it is bound to an environment, so it can be misleading if you work with a vanilla installation. I will try to generalize the common tasks:

1) Add a New Site (in my script the site is created as a Launched Copy of an existing site to get existing elementary assets)
    2) Assign Users to your new Site
    3) Create Templates; I have a template for
      a) Layout
      b) Container for a Page
      c) Container for an Article
    4) Start to modify the code for assets created in 3)
    5) Create Pages
    6) Place Pages to your Site
    7) Adjust components such as Menus, StyleSheets, etc.
    8) Create Content
    9) if required, place Search (search box, search results page)

From the step 4 onwards the order of steps seems to be arbitrary (e.g. you may create a bare code minimum of a Page Template, place it to your site, assign a content, and then come back again to the template).

I hope that helps.
  • 2. Re: For creating new site from Scratch where to start from?
    vivek lal Newbie
    Thanks Jiri,

This helped.

One more problem I am facing that is :

In replicated site, we are adding content like image , article. The drag and drop are successful but when I preview this, it does not refleclt to output page.