5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 28, 2013 2:38 PM by 987632 RSS

ORA-01017 Error

Hi

I am a part time student / full time systems admin. Ive been working on an oracle assignment using application express and sql plus, verison 11g express.
      Everything was going perfect until this evening when i tried to login as myself (user mcgrath)and i got the message ORA-01017 invalid username and password.
      This account was perfect. I can login to application express with no problem with the same username. I even changed my password in applicatiion express and retried sql plus.
      As i started to work on security i created a new workspace (user college) so i can work on grants and revokes. I can login to sql plus with this account no problem. somewhere along the way i must have blocked myself.
      when i select username,account_status from dba_users it says user mcgrath is open.

Any ideas.

Thanks

Malcolm
        • 1. Re: ORA-01017 Error
          riedelme
          984629 wrote:
          Hi

I am a part time student / full time systems admin. Ive been working on an oracle assignment using application express and sql plus, verison 11g express.
          Everything was going perfect until this evening when i tried to login as myself (user mcgrath)and i got the message ORA-01017 invalid username and password.
          This account was perfect. I can login to application express with no problem with the same username. I even changed my password in applicatiion express and retried sql plus.
          As i started to work on security i created a new workspace (user college) so i can work on grants and revokes. I can login to sql plus with this account no problem. somewhere along the way i must have blocked myself.
          when i select username,account_status from dba_users it says user mcgrath is open.

Any ideas.
          Can you post an exact version number - the value returned from V$VERSION, assuming you have access?