This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 5, 2013 1:31 PM by chillychin RSS

Point localhost OBIEE instance to specific RPD

chillychin Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Im a bit new to OBIEE and am trying to figure out how to get things to work in a multi user development enviorment

I was hoping I would be able to simply download the RPD file that I need to work on to my local host

From there, I can then open it in a web based browser as usual and make all my report changes.

Resave it and re upload/merge this into the main RPD

What I am having problems with is how do I get my downloaded RPD to actually show up in a web based url?

Any help is appreciated

Thanks
  • 1. Re: Point localhost OBIEE instance to specific RPD
    Srini VEERAVALLI Guru
    When you check out a new rpd file created in your local folder, if you set that in nqsconfig you might validate using reports, provided connection pool settings and any other..

Just try it out I never tried the same. let us know how it works
  • 2. Re: Point localhost OBIEE instance to specific RPD
    user2534719 Newbie
    I am not sure but you can't work in RPD using web based browser.

Each user willing to work in RPD will have to have OBIEE client installed on local machine.

Then the system DSN must be created to connect the database RPD is pointing to as specified in connection pools.

mark if that helps.
  • 3. Re: Point localhost OBIEE instance to specific RPD
    chillychin Newbie
    Right, I have OBIEE installed on my local machine

I can open the default "Sales" sample reports but I want to point to my own RPD file that I checked out and run it.

I can run it/open it in Administration and catalog but just cant get it to open in presentation services...

I tried changing my "default repository" in ODBC to my RPD but it is not letting me connect still showing me the old sales sample...
  • 4. Re: Point localhost OBIEE instance to specific RPD
    chillychin Newbie