This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2013 9:19 AM by 988417 RSS

Application Page Auditing

988417 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi guys

I am pretty new to Oracle Application Express, but have experience in SQL (as a student).

I have created an application. I would like to audit which users visit which pages (tabs). I have tested using the Apex_Activity_Log features built-in but I would like to create something myself...

Reading and understanding what I know, I was going to use a trigger. I don't think this would be suitable. Firstly, not all pages have tables; for example the welcome page has a simple HTML region, welcoming the user to the application (there are a number of pages similar to this). Secondly, I am not interested in what the user has done on the page, rather what tabs the user has visited and when.

I am struggling to understand how this will work, or if it's even possible. Many of the auditing examples I have researched focus on trigger table audits.

Any help and guidance would be fantastic.

Thanks

Matt.
  • 1. Re: Application Page Auditing
    TexasApexDeveloper Guru
    Why do you want to reinvent the wheel, or in this case how APEX does page visit auditing? Does it not provide the level of detail you need? Explaining WHY you want to do this might help to explain HOW to do what you want to do..

Thank you,

Tony Miller
    Ruckersville, VA
  • 2. Re: Application Page Auditing
    988417 Newbie
    Hi Tony

The reason: As I understand, and I am by no means an expert, the built-in logs 'audit' all activity. I practiced querying against this with some level of detail in the SQL workshop area - which I was happy!