This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 31, 2013 8:54 PM by EJP RSS

reconnecting to a dropped connection to database

956261 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Apologies if I'm not giving enough information - I am new to ojdbc connections and servlets in general ~

I am responsible for maintaining a bunch of legacy code which involves several deployed servlets; some through Tomcat 5.5.2, and others through Glassfish 3.3. All connect using the ojdbc14 driver, to Oracle 10 databases. All - or so I am told - use pooled connections.

However, occasionally, the connection to the DB is dropped, the DB restarts, etc., and the servlets fail until someone notices and they are re-deployed. Not a great setup. I understand there is some way to monitor the DB connection the servlet makes, so that, in the event of a lost connection, the servlet 'knows' about it and can recover gracefully rather than throwing an SqlException. But how do I accomplish this? Is there a way to make the servlet smart enough to recover itself by reinstigating the DB conection? I've searched around for an answer, but I have not been successful. Suggestions and pointers muchly appreciated. Thank you.
  • 1. Re: reconnecting to a dropped connection to database
    Joe Weinstein Expert
    You should either write the servlet to obtain, use, and close a JDBC connection every time it is invoked,
    or use a connection pooling system that will test and keep a stock of healthy connections for you to re-use
    as needed. If a connection fails halfway through executing the servlet after having been tested or newly
    made at the beginning of the servelt then you will still have to handle the exception and re-do your work
    with a new connection if you can.
  • 2. Re: reconnecting to a dropped connection to database
    939520 Explorer
    I don't know the answer to why its doing that, but here's some ideas (not necessarily good ideas):