This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 3, 2013 7:20 PM by Dude! RSS

dual  Boot Pre install Windows 7 with  oracle linux  on a dell laptop

Mahfuzur Rahman Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new in linux. want to install oracle linux on my dell aptop. it has existing windows 7. how can i install oracle linux without affecting win 7 files.

is oracle linux can be install on laptop.
  • 1. Re: dual  Boot Pre install Windows 7 with  oracle linux  on a dell laptop
    Dude! Guru
    You cannot assume that Oracle Linux will run on your Laptop. Oracle Linux, like other RHEL derivatives, is designed for Enterprise server systems. Support for video, trackpad, power management and wireless will vary and most likely not be available. You can check the support page of your computer manufacturer to see what Linux distributions are supported.

I would not install dual-boot, which requires you to repartition or install another hard disk. Instead, run VirtualBox. http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/community/developer-vm/index.html
  • 2. Re: dual  Boot Pre install Windows 7 with  oracle linux  on a dell laptop
    966897 Newbie
    Dude wrote:
    You cannot assume that Oracle Linux will run on your Laptop. Oracle Linux, like other RHEL derivatives, is designed for Enterprise server systems. Support for video, trackpad, power management and wireless will vary and most likely not be available. You can check the support page of your computer manufacturer to see what Linux distributions are supported.

I would not install dual-boot, which requires you to repartition or install another hard disk. Instead, run VirtualBox. http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/community/developer-vm/index.html
    I don't know why your tone is SOOOOO NEGATIVE???!!!