6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 6, 2013 3:42 AM by Helios-GunesEROL RSS

max-shm-memory (Solaris 11.1)

Catfive Lander
      I wonder if someone can give a definitive answer on this, or point me to somewhere that does?

If I have a 64GB RAM server running Solaris 11.1 that will run a single Oracle instance, what is the correct setting to make for max-shm-memory?
      Should it be 64GB, or something a bit smaller? Or something a lot smaller?

I have read the installation documentation, but it gives examples of 2gb, 4gb and so on. They don't seem relevant to a 64GB+ server
        • 1. Re: max-shm-memory (Solaris 11.1)
          Srini Chavali-Oracle
          I am not an expert in this area, but see if this MOS Doc can help

Kernel setup for Solaris 10 and Solaris 11 using project files [ID 429191.1]

HTH
          Srini
          • 2. Re: max-shm-memory (Solaris 11.1)
            Helios-GunesEROL
            Hi;

Please also refer:
                 Requirements To Install Oracle 11gR2 RDBMS On Solaris 11 SPARC / X86_64 [ID 1496618.1]

Regasrd
            Helios
            • 3. Re: max-shm-memory (Solaris 11.1)
              Catfive Lander
              Thank you, but that document doesn't answer my questions.

Specifically, it states at one point that "project.max-shm-memory=(privileged,51539607552,deny); ... sets a limit of 48GB per shared memory segment" (which is true, as far as I understand it). But it then goes on to say in the next breath that "The project.max-shm-memory limit is the __total__ shared memory size for your project. -- ie maximum total of all your segments.". Which, to my mind, contradicts its first statement.

The article then also goes on to give an example where "This system has 8GB of memory..." and shows the author setting "projmod -s -K "project.max-shm-memory=(privileged,4GB,deny)" 'user.oracle'"... so are we to deduce that you should set max-shm-memory to 50% of your physically-available RAM? Or not??