This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2013 12:44 AM by chpruvos RSS

The best way to store my value

chpruvos Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I am a beginner with Oracle NoSQL so I explain my use case :

I have an object called Position coming from Coherence.

Position {
int id
string symbol
int amount
double price
}

I wonder what is the best way to store this object knowing that I want to do some queries like "select position from xxx where symbol = "ORCL", "select symbol, count(symbol) from xxx group by symbol" (I know we cannot use SQL it is just to give you easily an idea of my need)

1) Like that

majorComponents = new ArrayList<String>();
majorComponents.add("position");
majorComponents.add(String.valueOf(position.getId()));     

myKey = Key.createKey(majorComponents);

myValue = Value.createValue(SerializationUtils.serialize(position));
store.put(myKey, myValue);

2) Or like that

minorComponents.add("symbol");

myKey = createKey(majorComponents, minorComponents);

myValue = Value.createValue(SerializationUtils.serialize(position.getSymbol));

etc...with amount and price

Thank you for all...
  • 1. Re: The best way to store my value
    chpruvos Newbie
    Amount is a int and price is a double. Should I use Integer and Double for storing like the code below ?

position = Utils.makeNewPosition(i);

minorComponents = new ArrayList<String>();
                   myKey = Key.createKey(majorComponents,minorComponents);
                   myValue = Value.createValue(position.getSymbol().getBytes());

minorComponents.add("amount");
                   myValue = Value.createValue(SerializationUtils.serialize(new Integer(position.getAmount())));

minorComponents.add("price");
                   myValue = Value.createValue(SerializationUtils.serialize(new Double(position.getPrice())));

And please explain the code to get an Integer or a Double from a Value v (Value v = vv.getValue();) ..

Thank you for all

Christophe.