This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Feb 18, 2013 5:50 AM by EdStevens RSS

move database OFFLINE (make COPY)

newbieDBA Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
here is the scenario,
#we want to setup an application server , same like the existing server !
#i have installed Oracle Infra already
#i also have installed Oracle application server ( destination Server on remote)
#Now , i want to have the same database like existing server !
application server 10g, windows 2003 server
, How it can be done !!

Thanks in advance
  • 1. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    asahide Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,

    Do you want to SAME database on another server, right?
    And Can you stop your database?

    then, You shutdown your database and copy all datafile(redo and ctl etc...) to new another server.
    And On another server, Install oracle and set up service then you can startup new database.


    Regards,
  • 2. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    Kamran Agayev A. Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    here is the scenario,
    #we want to setup an application server , same like the existing server !
    #i have installed Oracle Infra already
    #i also have installed Oracle application server ( destination Server on remote)
    #Now , i want to have the same database like existing server !
    application server 10g, windows 2003 server
    , How it can be done !!

    Thanks in advance
    You can clone the database using DUPLICATE DATABASE command.
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/backup.112/e10642/rcmdupdb.htm
    http://kamranagayev.com/2010/06/25/rman-video-tutorial-series-creating-duplicate-and-standby-database-using-rman/

    You can also perform a Disaster Recovery using RMAN
    http://kamranagayev.com/2010/03/29/rman-video-tutorial-series-performing-disaster-recovery-with-rman/

    If you're running the database on the Windows machine, make sure you've created OS service using oradim utitliy
    Good Luck!
  • 3. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    newbieDBA Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    I can shutdown database ,
    , as i having a full dump file (full.dmp) , from other installed server.
    will importing that file , it will work?
    install oracle - can i create oracle (only software) from DBCA ?
    i m confuse
  • 4. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    Kamran Agayev A. Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    I can shutdown database ,
    , as i having a full dump file (full.dmp) , from other installed server.
    will importing that file , it will work?
    install oracle - can i create oracle (only software) from DBCA ?
    i m confuse
    If you can shutdown the database, and you have export dump - then just create a database using DBCA and import it
  • 5. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    newbieDBA Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    i tried importing , that DMP file around 3 GB ,
    and importing failed -( import terminated unsucessfully ) :(

    Edited by: newbieDBA on Feb 17, 2013 10:35 PM
  • 6. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    newbieDBA Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    you mean the target database needs to be shutdown??( in which im importing)
  • 7. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    Kamran Agayev A. Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    You don't need to shutdown the target database while exporting/importing
  • 8. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    Kamran Agayev A. Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    i tried importing , that DMP file around 3 GB ,
    and importing failed -( import terminated unsucessfully ) :(

    Edited by: newbieDBA on Feb 17, 2013 10:35 PM
    Importing 3gb db is the simplest task of the DBA. If you're a DBA, try to solve it by your own
    If you're not a DBA, then let DBA to solve it instead of you
  • 9. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    newbieDBA Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Then what does it mean when u suggest " if you can shutdown the database"
    , i tried imported full but it terminated unsucessfully.
    well! i can try again !
    is it possible to rollback if import ? ( i m afraid if i make a mess to database , i may need to install app server again ! )
  • 10. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    Kamran Agayev A. Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    Then what does it mean when u suggest " if you can shutdown the database"
    , i tried imported full but it terminated unsucessfully.
    well! i can try again !
    is it possible to rollback if import ? ( i m afraid if i make a mess to database , i may need to install app server again ! )
    I was meaning that if you can shutdown the database, then you can even copy all datafiles, redo log files and controlfiles to the new server and start the database - That's the easiest way!
  • 11. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    EdStevens Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    I can shutdown database ,
    , as i having a full dump file (full.dmp) , from other installed server.
    will importing that file , it will work?
    install oracle - can i create oracle (only software) from DBCA ?
    dbca is used to create a database. Creating a database is not the same as installing the software. Creating a Word document is not the same as installing MS Office.
    i m confuse
  • 12. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    EdStevens Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    you mean the target database needs to be shutdown??( in which im importing)
    You cannot import into a database unless that database is up and open.
  • 13. Re: move database OFFLINE (make COPY)
    EdStevens Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    newbieDBA wrote:
    i tried importing , that DMP file around 3 GB ,
    and importing failed -( import terminated unsucessfully ) :(

    Edited by: newbieDBA on Feb 17, 2013 10:35 PM
    Unfortunately, you didn't think it was important to share the actual error messages.

    =================================================
    Learning how to look things up in the documentation is time well spent investing in your career. To that end, you should drop everything else you are doing and do the following:

    Go to [url tahiti.oracle.com]tahiti.oracle.com.

    Locate the link for your Oracle product and version, and click on it.

    You are now at the entire documentation set for your selected Oracle product and version.

    <b><i><u>BOOKMARK THAT LOCATION</u></i></b>

    Spend a few minutes just getting familiar with what is available here. Take special note of the "books" and "search" tabs. Under the "books" tab (for 10.x) or the "Master Book List" link (for 11.x) you will find the complete documentation library.

    For your current question about use of the import utility, look for the "Utilities" manual.

    Spend a few minutes just getting familiar with what <b><i><u>kind</u></i></b> of documentation is available there by simply browsing the titles under the "Books" tab.

    Open the Reference Manual and spend a few minutes looking through the table of contents to get familiar with what <b><i><u>kind</u></i></b> of information is available there.

    Do the same with the SQL Reference Manual.

    Do the same with the Utilities manual.

    You don't have to read the above in depth. They are <b><i><u>reference</b></i></u> manuals. Just get familiar with <b><i><u>what</b></i></u> is there to <b><i><u>be</b></i></u> referenced. Ninety percent of the questions asked on this forum can be answered in less than 5 minutes by simply searching one of the above manuals.

    Then set yourself a plan to dig deeper.
    - Read a chapter a day from the Concepts Manual.
    - Take a look in your alert log. One of the first things listed at startup is the initialization parms with non-default values. Read up on each one of them (listed in your alert log) in the Reference Manual.
    - Take a look at your listener.ora, tnsnames.ora, and sqlnet.ora files. Go to the Network Administrators manual and read up on everything you see in those files.
    - When you have finished reading the Concepts Manual, do it again.

    Give a man a fish and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime.

    =================================

    Use the search facilities to Search for your error messages.

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points