This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2013 2:03 PM by jrimblas RSS

Debug/No Debug behavior?  Keeps resetting.

Skip - Absolute Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
How should the Debug/No Debug setting in the Developer toolbar work?

My recollection is that before version 4.2, with debugging enabled for the application, when the Developer toolbar was showing, if I set Debug, the display would toggle to No Debug, and then keep debugging/tracing every page execution until I explicitly clicked No Debug. It acted like a mode setting.

Now in 4.2, I find that it will trace one or two page submissions, and then go back to the Debug display, and stop tracing. If I have an IR page, I can get it to trace the first execution, say with rowset of rows 1 - 15. The display continues to show No Debug, but when I go to the next rowset, and the next, I don't get any new page traces.

So is the Debug/No Debug link a mode selector, where you can be in Debug or No Debug mode, or is it an action button, where you have to have the display show Debug, and if you click it, you will get one and only one debug trace?

What am I not understanding? Here's the description from the Builder User's Guide:
To enable or disable Debug mode:

On the Workspace home page, click the Application Builder icon.

Run the application.

On the Developer Toolbar, click Debug.

The debugging mode is enabled. Debug data is captured in the background.

To disable debug mode, on the Developer Toolbar, click No Debug.
By the way, the primary reason I use Debug is to look at the query execution times, which seems to be shown in the "IR binding: "APXWS_MAX_ROW_CNT" value=" step. If there is a more direct way to capture and record the actual page source query execution time, it would be great to know.
  • 1. Re: Debug/No Debug behavior?  Keeps resetting.
    jrimblas Expert