This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Jun 13, 2013 9:05 PM by hendrix06230623 RSS

ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby

986469 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hey guys, I have done research on this for hours and tried different things but still can not get a handle of what I'm missing...

I'm going to try the 11g creating physical standby by using "....from active database" instead of doing it the old way. I keep running into a brick wall. Any help would be appreciated.
db version is 11.2.0.2 on AIX

This is what has been done..
1. created pfile on both primary and standby
2. created orapwd file and transfered over to standby
3. standby db is nomounted (startup nomount) and listener is up and running

cemabc_p =unique_name of primary instance
cemabc_s = unique name of standby instance

commands im executing on standby :
rman target backup_admin/temabc@cemabc_p catalog rman/qaabc@rmnabc

connect AUXILIARY backup_admin/temppw@cemabc_s
RMAN> DUPLICATE TARGET DATABASE FOR STANDBY NOFILENAMECHECK from active database;

Starting Duplicate Db at 22-FEB-13
allocated channel: ORA_AUX_DISK_1
channel ORA_AUX_DISK_1: SID=7 device type=DISK

contents of Memory Script:
{
backup as copy reuse
targetfile '/oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2/dbs/orapwcemabc' auxiliary format
'/oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2/dbs/orapwcemabc' ;
}
executing Memory Script

Starting backup at 22-FEB-13
allocated channel: ORA_DISK_1
channel ORA_DISK_1: SID=112 device type=DISK
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-03002: failure of Duplicate Db command at 02/22/2013 14:53:52
RMAN-05501: aborting duplication of target database
RMAN-03015: error occurred in stored script Memory Script
RMAN-03009: failure of backup command on ORA_DISK_1 channel at 02/22/2013 14:53:52
ORA-17629: Cannot connect to the remote database server
ORA-17629: Cannot connect to the remote database server



What ive tried so far..I tried to connect from the primary db :
adcabc1:/home/oracle/dba>rman target backup_admin/temabc catalog rman/qabc@rmnabc

Recovery Manager: Release 11.2.0.2.0 - Production on Fri Feb 22 14:52:51 2013

Copyright (c) 1982, 2009, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

connected to target database: CEMABC (DBID=4229695208)
connected to recovery catalog database

RMAN> resync catalog from db_unique_name all;


starting full resync of recovery catalog
full resync complete

starting full resync of recovery catalog
full resync complete

starting full resync of recovery catalog
full resync complete



Still no luck.
I have succuessfully tnsping cemabc_p and cemabc_s from both primary and standby .

Im pretty sure I'm missing a step, if there is more information that is needed...let me know
  • 1. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    mseberg Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hello;

    For active duplication you need to connect to the target and Auxiliary Databases using net service name.

    During this process both servers have to be able to connect.

    Will post an example here in a moment

    http://www.visi.com/~mseberg/standby_creation_from_active_database_using_rman.html

    Make sure to read the keys to success at the end of this.


    Best Regards

    mseberg

    Edited by: mseberg on Feb 22, 2013 2:46 PM
  • 2. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    986469 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Just tried that..still no luck

    adcabc1:/home/oracle/dbarman target=backup_admin/temppw@cemabc_p auxiliary=backup_admin/temppw@cemabc_s

    Recovery Manager: Release 11.2.0.2.0 - Production on Fri Feb 22 15:55:01 2013

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2009, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

    connected to target database: CEMABC (DBID=4229695208)
    connected to auxiliary database: CEMABC (not mounted)


    DUPLICATE TARGET DATABASE FOR STANDBY NOFILENAMECHECK from active database;

    Starting Duplicate Db at 22-FEB-13
    using target database control file instead of recovery catalog
    allocated channel: ORA_AUX_DISK_1
    channel ORA_AUX_DISK_1: SID=7 device type=DISK

    contents of Memory Script:
    {
    backup as copy reuse
    targetfile '/oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2/dbs/orapwcemabc' auxiliary format
    '/oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2/dbs/orapwcemabc' ;
    }
    executing Memory Script

    Starting backup at 22-FEB-13
    allocated channel: ORA_DISK_1
    channel ORA_DISK_1: SID=309 device type=DISK
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of Duplicate Db command at 02/22/2013 15:56:29
    RMAN-05501: aborting duplication of target database
    RMAN-03015: error occurred in stored script Memory Script
    RMAN-03009: failure of backup command on ORA_DISK_1 channel at 02/22/2013 15:56:29
    ORA-17629: Cannot connect to the remote database server
    ORA-17629: Cannot connect to the remote database server



    TNS ENTRY:
    CEMABC_P =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (SDU=32767)
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = adcabc1)(PORT = 1526))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SERVICE_NAME=cemabc.world)
    (UR=A)
    )
    )

    CEMABC_S =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (SDU=32767)
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = adcabc2)(PORT = 1526))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SERVICE_NAME=cemabc.world)
    (UR=A)
    )
    )



    LISTENER on NODE1:

    INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT_LISTENER=120

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)
    (SDU=32767)
    (SID_NAME = cemabc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)
    (SDU=32767)
    (SID_NAME = ctmabc)
    )
    )

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = adcabc1)(PORT = 1526))
    )
    )



    LISTENER on NODE2:

    INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT_LISTENER=120

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)
    (SDU=32767)
    (SID_NAME = cemabc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)
    (SDU=32767)
    (SID_NAME = ctmabc)
    )
    )

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = adcabc2)(PORT = 1526))
    )
    )

    tried this but didnt work so I put the original one back:
    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    +(SID_LIST =+
    +(SID_DESC =+
    +(global_dbname = cemabc.adcabc2)+
    +(ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)+
    +(SDU=32767)+
    +(SID_NAME = cemabc)+
    +)+
    +(SID_DESC =+
    +(ORACLE_HOME= /oracle/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.2)+
    +(SDU=32767)+
    +(SID_NAME = ctmabc)+
    +)+
    +)+

    Edited by: Shaz3kgt on Feb 22, 2013 1:16 PM
  • 3. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    mseberg Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    OK

    I assume this
    connected to target database: CEMABC (DBID=4229695208)
    connected to auxiliary database: CEMABC (not mounted)
    Is on the remote server right? If yes it shows that RMAN was able to connect to the Primary server and the local static connection. So the issue is probably that the Primary server cannot connect back.

    You need an entry for the CLONE in your TNSNAMES.ORA on both servers. Can you confirm this?

    Can you post the listener.ora entry for the clone?

    I'm double checking this
    rman target backup_admin/temabc@cemabc_p catalog rman/qaabc@rmnabc
    This ( above is odd )

    Mine :
    rman target=sys/@recover2 auxiliary=sys/@reclone
    I use SYS/PASSWORD on both for it to work.

    Also make sure these are set
    listener.ora 
    INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT_<listener_name> = 120
    
    sqlnet.ora 
    SQLNET.INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT = 120
    And restart the listeners afterwards


    Best Regards

    mseberg

    Edited by: mseberg on Feb 22, 2013 3:10 PM

    Edited by: mseberg on Feb 22, 2013 3:11 PM
  • 4. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    986469 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    OHH GOT IT...so the issue I ran into was that I gave backup_admin sysdba but when you said give sys...I specifically tried sys and it worked!!

    I guess although I gave backup_admin sysdba , I still needed to use sys. THANK YOU
  • 5. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    mseberg Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    Thanks!

    Great job of providing the right amount of detail.

    Best Regards

    mseberg
  • 6. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    hendrix06230623 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated

    Hi mseberg,

    I encountered same problem too, create a user with "SYSDBA" privilege doing RMAN duplicate.

    Then ORA-17629 occurs...Do you know any document specify that duplicate must use with SYS user?


    B.rgds

  • 7. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    MahirM.Quluzade Guru
    Currently Being Moderated

    Hi,


    Did you  copied password file from primary to standby side?

    When you  changed or create a SYSDBA or SYSOPER user you  must copy password file to standby side.

    Because password file must be same for data guard configuration databases.

     

    Regards

    Mahir M. Quluzade

  • 8. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    hendrix06230623 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated

    Hi MahirMQuluzade

     

    Thanks for your reply,

    I've copied password file to standby side.  And Last time I done successfully with SYS user.

    Due to our DB privilege control policy, now I have to create an new DB user with specific system privileges(as below)  for data guard maintain/establish purpose .


    ALTER SYSTEM

    ALTER DATABASE

    SYSDBA

    CONNECT

     

    Are these privileges not enough ?

  • 9. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    MahirM.Quluzade Guru
    Currently Being Moderated

    Need DBA privilege for dba user.

     

    When you  changed or create a SYSDBA or SYSOPER user you  must copy password file to standby side.

    Because password file must be same for data guard configuration databases.

     

    Yes, you can use management database, dba tasks with dba privileged user. But my  recomendation use only SYS user for duplication of database.

  • 10. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    Hemant K Chitale Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated

    Unlike sqlplus,  RMAN does not support the "AS SYSDBA" syntax.  Therefore, it implicitly assumes only a SYS connection.

     

    See http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/backup.112/e10642/rcmquick.htm#i771020

    "The only difference is that RMAN connections to a target or auxiliary database require the SYSDBA privilege. The AS SYSDBA keywords are implied and cannot be explicitly specified"

    sqlplus allows you to use other usernames because it supports the "AS SYSDBA" syntax.

     

     

    Hemant K Chitale

  • 11. Re: ORA-17629: when attempting to use from active database for building standby
    hendrix06230623 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated

    Hi Hemant K Chitale,

     

    Thanks for reply,

    After logon RNAM with "AS SYSDBA ". The user I created for logon RMAN can perform other backup, restore, recovery tasks, only duplicate command with such problem.

    I've raised a SR on MOS now...

     

    Below the script is that I create with.

    FYR

     

    <create script>

    CREATE USER DGADMIN

      IDENTIFIED BY <password>

      DEFAULT TABLESPACE USERS

      TEMPORARY TABLESPACE TEMP

      PROFILE DBA

      ACCOUNT UNLOCK;

      -- 5  System Privileges for DGADMIN

      GRANT ALTER DATABASE TO DGADMIN;

      GRANT ALTER PROFILE TO DGADMIN;

      GRANT ALTER SYSTEM TO DGADMIN;

      GRANT ALTER TABLESPACE TO DGADMIN;

      GRANT CREATE SESSION TO DGADMIN; 

      -- 2 ROLE for DGADMIN

      GRANT CONNECT TO DGADMIN;

      GRANT SYSDBA TO DGADMIN;

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points