3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 25, 2013 9:13 PM by user8812684 RSS

How to get Apex App to run oracle procedure as APP_USER

user8812684
      Hi

I am very new to oracle APEX. I have just created a very basic apex app that picks up a text file from the file server, loads the data into a table and does some processing and validation on the data. I am using APEX verion 4.1 using an oracle 11.1.0.7 database on windows.

First i use the automatically created login form (the standard one you get when you create a new app) to login to my app. Once login is successfull it displays the data processing page. To load the data from a text file i created a text field where i enter my file name and i then have a load button. When the button is pressed i call a dynamic action where i execute a packaged procedure from my database. The data loads ok with no issues. The data load procedure calls sqlloader to load the data.

eg. begin
      my_package.Uploading_data(:SELECT_FILE);
      end;

On the same page i then have a second button to do the validation and processing of the data. Once again when the button is pressed it calls a dynamic action where it executes a packaged procedure from my database.

eg. begin
      my_package.process_data;
      end;

The problem i have is when the button is pressed and the procedure is executed it inserts the valid and invalid data into seperate tables as the APEX_PUBLIC_USER and not the APP_USER or user i loggged on with. I need it to insert the data as the logged in user so i can see who has loaded data. I can't work out how to execute a packaged procedure stored in the database from my apex app as the app_user or logged in user.