This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2013 1:42 AM by r035198x RSS

Business Delegate and Session Facade usage.

995008 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi guys.

I am new to JavaEE and I recently learnt the Business Delegate and Session Facade design patterns. The tutorials from Oracle did gave me a basic idea of what they are and why they are used, but the example didn't really answer all my questions. So I decided to use a real life scenario here and put my question in to it. Any help is appreciated.

Assume I want to create a search employee page for my company, the employees are categorized by his or her department and the province he or she is in. I have in the database a look up table for department and province. (as shown in the image below)

http://oi46.tinypic.com/idvpsl.jpg

So I create three JPA entities, one for each table. Now I am stuck with what is the proper way to design the session facade design pattern. I know that I will need the to access all three entities in my page. (to get the drop down list for Provinces and Departments, and to retrieve list of Employees based on the selection) So should I create a Stateless Session Bean as session facade to access all three JPA Entities or should I create three separate Stateless Session Bean to manage one Entity each?

I came up three component diagram in the below picture.
The first one has one Stateless Session Bean as session facade and manages all three Entities.
The second one has a session facade to manage the relationship between business objects such as ProvinceManagerEJB and DepartmentManagerEJB which will manage the corresponding Entities.
The last one has three Stateless Session Beans that will manage one Entity each, all three Stateless Session Beans can be looked up via the Business Delegate pattern.

http://oi46.tinypic.com/10pqets.jpg