This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2013 4:09 PM by EJP RSS

De-Allocating Memory

995455 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello!

i'm a programmer with extensive programming knowledge about C++ and hence i know about memory management....
I have made this small little program in Java:

-----

Class myThread extends Thread{

public void run(){

System.out.println("I RAN!!!");
new myThread().start();

}

}

Class mainClass{

public static void main(String args[]){

new myThread().start();

}

}

-----

but the thing is, that if i run this program for a long time, it says something like memory couldn't be allocated or something like that.
all i wanna do is delete the current thread before starting the new one...

is is possible?

please help....
  • 1. Re: De-Allocating Memory
    r035198x Pro
    Your thread's run method starts a new thread whose run method starts a new thread whose run method starts a new thread ...
  • 2. Re: De-Allocating Memory
    Kayaman Guru
    992452 wrote:
    i'm a programmer with extensive programming knowledge about C++ and hence i know about memory management....
    Okay. Well, as you know, there's no direct memory management in Java.
    I have made this small little program in Java:
    Why on earth?
    but the thing is, that if i run this program for a long time, it says something like memory couldn't be allocated or something like that.
    What's "long time"? And what OS are you on? And what's the exact error message?
    Well, you can't delete threads. Even though there's the Thread.stop() method, it's been deprecated.
    What are you really trying to do? This whole mindless spawning of threads can't be what you're after (and it would be ridiculously stupid to just create new threads instead of pooling them).
  • 3. Re: De-Allocating Memory
    TPD-Opitz-Consulting-com Expert