10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 12, 2013 1:53 PM by Uwehesse-Oracle RSS

Protection Mode

Hello,

I am new to data guard and only recently setup my first implementation of a primary and standby Oracle 11 g database.

A) Correct me if i am wrong

Flow of the No Real-time process:

1) primary database sends redo data through redo transport process,
      2) the redo data is written to standby redo log;
      3) archive process archives the standby redo when there is a log switch;
      4) redo apply process applies the redo data to the standby.

Am i right?

B)My Database is in Maximum Performance mode. Without SRL at the standby site, is LGWR transport (LGWR ASYNC) possible?

C) Is there any relationship between Log Transport mode and Data protection mode?

With Regards
        • 1. Re: Protection Mode
          CKPT
          A) Correct me if i am wrong

Flow of the No Real-time process:

1) primary database sends redo data through redo transport process,
          2) the redo data is written to standby redo log;
          3) archive process archives the standby redo when there is a log switch;
          4) redo apply process applies the redo data to the standby.

Am i right?
          Data Guard process LNS will be reading from redo buffer of SGA and passes redo to Oracle Net Services for transmission to the standby system, It writes in standby redo log files, according to the communication with primary data, archiving on standby will takes place.
          database.
          B)My Database is in Maximum Performance mode. Without SRL at the standby site, is LGWR transport (LGWR ASYNC) possible?
          You must configure Standby redo log files, if you want to use redo transport service LGWR
          C) Is there any relationship between Log Transport mode and Data protection mode?
          Data protection modes are different Like 1) maximum performance 2) maximum protection 3) maximum avaialbility