This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Mar 13, 2013 2:33 AM by fgrieu RSS

Question about javax.smartcardio.Card.disconnect() method.

995755 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi!

I'm new in programming Javacard's applets and Java applications. At this moment I am learning how to use "javax.smartcardio" library to communicate with my applets. Well, I already did it, but I have an question:

What does the "reset" boolean parameter in "Card.disconnect()" method?

Searching through the web, I found only this information: "reset - whether to reset the card after disconnecting".

Well, this didn't help too much. What happens when I choose to reset? Why should I reset?

On my application, sending "true" signal apparently does the same as sending "false", so, I really don't know when I should use one or another.

Thanks for any help and sorry about my bad english ;D

Ederson
  • 1. Re: Question about javax.smartcardio.Card.disconnect() method.
    fgrieu Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    The reset parameter to<tt> javax.smartcardio.Card.disconnect() </tt>controls what the underlying PC/SC interface to the reader receives as the parameters to<tt> SCardDisconnect </tt>. The original design, for contact cards per ISO/IEC 7816-3, was in turn controlling if communication with the card should be able to later resume undisturbed (for the value<tt> SCARD_LEAVE_CARD </tt> passed to<tt> SCardDisconnect </tt>), or if the card should be reset (for some other values), so that the next use of the card will return the card to its initial state.

According to several sources, the<tt> reset </tt>parameter tends to do, in some JRE (and as far as I can tell, all JRE with<tt> javax.smartcardio </tt>), the opposite of what its name and documentation suggests;<tt> disconnect() </tt>does
    <tt>SCardDisconnect(cardId, (reset ? SCARD_LEAVE_CARD : SCARD_RESET_CARD));</tt>
    that is, the card is reset when<tt> reset </tt>is<tt> false </tt>.

This is corroborated by