This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Mar 20, 2013 1:10 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Java Begineer at GUI

993724 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am a very beginner in java, just doing some classes and projects but I have a question "will be very silly to you sure"
if I made a program with GUI at NetBeans for example, after run it, does that provide a stand alone application on desktop, for example to re use that program again without running on NetBeans or calling it from the commander.
  • 1. Re: Java Begineer at GUI
    gimbal2 Guru
    Netbeans is your development environment and only a pretty shell around that thing called "java". You can do everything without it, including compiling your application and yes also run it. You should spend some time learning proper java, not java hidden behind netbeans. Then you wont have to ask these kind of questions anymore.
  • 2. Re: Java Begineer at GUI
    rp0428 Guru
    >
    I am a very beginner in java, just doing some classes and projects but I have a question "will be very silly to you sure"
    if I made a program with GUI at NetBeans for example, after run it, does that provide a stand alone application on desktop, for example to re use that program again without running on NetBeans or calling it from the commander.
    >
    Stand alone application? What do you mean by that?

It will typically, by default create a jar file when you 'Build' the project.

If you right-click on a project in the project tree and select 'properties -> Build -> Packaging' you will see the name and location of the jar file that is built.

If that jar file has a 'main' method you should be able to just double-click on it to run the application. That will only work if it does not require you to specify command line arguments.
  • 3. Re: Java Begineer at GUI
    996244 Newbie