1 2 3 Previous Next 30 Replies Latest reply: Apr 3, 2013 2:27 AM by Hemant K Chitale RSS

Cold Backup/Recovering A Table

I am running 11r2 in a RAC environment. We have a primary plus two standby's (using Active Data Guard). Also, I am a new DBA, so bare with me. :)

TableX in a certain database is corrupted. The corruption began a month ago due to a web developer's code change. The code change was fixed a week ago.
      Summary: the data in TableX is corrupted up until a week ago.

Flashback doesn't extend that far into the past, so what I've been thinking of doing is, on our test server:

1) Copy over relevant files from production to the test server
      2) Backup the original TableX on production
      3) Restore the system, sysaux, undo and the tablespace which contains TableX on test server
      4) Drop all other tablespaces in mount state (or not, if this step isn't necessary?)
      5) Recover the database till the time when the table was dropped or updated
      6) Take an export of TableX from database and import it into production, overwriting the current TableX
      7) Update the imported production TableX with the past week of "good" data from the backup in step 2

I have 3 questions.
      Does this seem like a good strategy?
      Additionally, I am having difficulty determining what the "relevant files" are in step 1. What would I be copying over? Everything in the ArchiveLog folder? Or Everything in the db_recovery_file_dest folder? Or...?
      Lastly, in step 3, is there a way to perform the restore w/o overwriting preexisting data on the test server?

Thank you
        • 1. Re: Cold Backup/Recovering A Table
          mseberg
          Hello;

Difficult to answer your questions without additional information.

Assuming you have an RMAN backup from before the issue I would use this to create a copy of the database on another server. Then I would data pump the table out and then back into production.