This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 2, 2013 4:51 PM by 1000389 RSS

Getting data from a record set

1000389 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi everyone,

My apologies if this has been answered before but I'm finding it difficult to find an answer online so thought I would ask. I'm pretty new to Java development, but have several years .Net development behind me, and have a question regarding getting data from a resultset once its pulled from MS SQL in an efficient manner.

I've created a sample db to test connecting to SQL, called tblTeams and has the column names team_id, team_name, team_principal, driver_one, driver_two and have managed to populate my resultset fine from MS SQL 2008, and am looking at outputting the data using println. Looking online I can do this using a while loop as below:

while (rs.next()) {
System.out.print(rs.getString("team_name")+ "\t");
System.out.print(rs.getString("team_principal")+ "\t");
System.out.print(rs.getString("driver_one")+ "\t");
System.out.println(rs.getString("driver_two"));
}

My question is, is there any way I can pull the data row by row instead of doing each data item one by one per column, and then just use println to print out each row?

Something along the following is what I'm looking for if it helps describe what I'm after:

while (rs.next()) {
System.out.print(rs.getRow(row) + "\t");
}

Thanks

Lee
  • 1. Re: Getting data from a record set
    gimbal2 Guru
    Since you've been using .NET you're probably more familiar with mapping rows to objects directly - under Java you have the Java Persistence API (JPA) that can do this for you. Low level JDBC is really that - low level, its not designed to make your life easy.
  • 2. Re: Getting data from a record set
    rp0428 Guru
    >
    My question is, is there any way I can pull the data row by row instead of doing each data item one by one per column, and then just use println to print out each row?
    >