2 Replies Latest reply: Apr 3, 2013 10:26 AM by 836548 RSS

How to copy file from  one location to another

BK574
      Hi,

I am new to java, I tried the following code to move the file from one location to another
      public class CopyFiles {
      public String copy ( File source, File target)
      throws IOException {   
      FileChannel sourceChannel = null;
      FileChannel targetChannel =null;
      try {   
      sourceChannel =new FileInputStream(source).getChannel();
      targetChannel= new FileOutputStream(target).getChannel();
      targetChannel.transferFrom(sourceChannel, 0,
      sourceChannel.size());
      }
      finally {   
      targetChannel.close();
      sourceChannel.close();
      }
      return "Success";
      }

public static void main(String [] args) throws Exception{   

File source = new File("C:\\users\\download.pdf");
      File destinationFile = new File("C:\\apple\\download.pdf");
      copy(source, destinationFile);
      }
      }

The above code is working perfectly, but I Don't want to include the file name in destination file. i.e. File destinationFile=new File("C:\\apple"), and at the same time the pdf with same name has to get stored in the destination location, how can I achieve this.
        • 1. Re: How to copy file from  one location to another
          kameshb wrote:
          I Don't want to include the file name in destination file. i.e. File destinationFile=new File("C:\\apple"), and at the same time the pdf with same name has to get stored in the destination location, how can I achieve this.
          It's not totally clear what you're saying here, but what I think you mean is that you don't want to explicitly set the destination file name--you want to just give the copy the same name as the original. Yes?