This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 3, 2013 4:26 PM by 9423755 RSS

What's happening here?

9423755 Explorer
Currently Being Moderated
Hi

I'm just starting out (again) on learning java and below is the first of a set of sample certification questions on oracle's website (reformatted for clarity):
public class Sequence { 
    Sequence() { 
                    System.out.print("c "); 
    } 
    { 
        System.out.print("y "); 
    } 
    public static void main(String[] args) { 
        new Sequence().go(); 
    } 
    void go() { 
        System.out.print("g "); 
    } 
    static { 
            System.out.print("x "); 
    } 
} 
I've managed to compile it (yay!) using just the command line rather than the JDeveloper sledgehammer (doubly yay!) but with my foggy prior knowledge of java, am confused.
My understanding is that "new Sequence().go()" will cause the constructor to fire in order to create an instance of Sequence so that the member function "go()" can fire. So why then does this create the following output:
x y c g
So yes, I would have expected "c g". What do you call the block that outputs "y", why is it firing, and why is the static function that outputs "x" firing?

Many thanks,
Jason
  • 1. Re: What's happening here?
    Kayaman Guru
    Jason_942375 wrote:
    What do you call the block that outputs "y", why is it firing,
    It's a (non-static) initialization block, which is run when an instance is created, i.e. at the same time as a constructor.
    and why is the static function that outputs "x" firing?
    It's not a function, it's a static initialization block that is run when the class is loaded.
  • 2. Re: What's happening here?
    9423755 Explorer
    Thanks. That would make sense.

So, the order is:

1. class is loaded --> runs a static initialization block if present
    2. main() function runs, which calls Sequence().go() which causes three things to happen:
    3.a class instance initialization block runs