1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 3, 2013 3:25 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

Using RMI to wrap a process that is not thread safe

I have a multi-threaded application but one function (A) I need to call, that is provided by a third party, is not thread safe. I need to make parallel calls to function (A) so my only option is to start multiple process that I can call from each of my main applications threads.

To do this I created a RMI interface between a the client and the remote process. On the server side I start multiple processes each assigned a different port. On the client side I have a queue manager that connects to the processes I started and builds a queue of them. It passes the client to the threads as needed so they can function in parallel.

I am new to Java development and have the following questions:
      1. Each of the server processes require an init function to be run before providing the service. How do I setup the server processes to continue to run in memory listening for a a service request after running the init processes.
      2. Is there a better implementation of what I am trying to do?

Thanks,
        • 1. Re: Using RMI to wrap a process that is not thread safe
          jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias
          so my only option is to start multiple process
          Presumably you really do me a "process" in that the OS will be running multiple instances of the executable.
          Each of the server processes require an init function to be run before providing the service. How do I setup the server processes to continue to run in memory listening for a a service request after running the init processes.
          Your request handling proceeds as follows.
          1. Is the process already in the collection (a static collection you keep somewhere.) If so get it.
          2. If no, then create it, call init() put it in the collection.
          3. Now run the request with the process which you will have either from step 1 or 2.