5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 5, 2013 9:59 AM by Liam Merwick-Oracle RSS

Minimum platform to learn Oracle VM Server SPARC

Hi everyone

I am new to Oracle VM Server SPARC, just want to know what is the minimum hardware platform that runs SPARC VM server ?

Will a Fire V245 run it ?

thanks
        • 1. Re: Minimum platform to learn Oracle VM Server SPARC
          Sven-Olaf Hilmer
          no.
          Oracle VM for SPARC runs only on T-series and the new M5.
          E-series, V-series and the former M-series do not support Oracle VM for SPARC.

regs
          Sven
          • 2. Re: Minimum platform to learn Oracle VM Server SPARC
            Bjoern Rost
            also, while the T1000 and T2000 support logical domains (or Oracle VM for SPARC), only version 1.x is supported. So if you want to play with the newer features (like live migration) in version 2.x and 3 you'd need at least a T2 CPU. The new M10 from Fujitsu supports LDOMs aswell.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E37707_01/html/E29668/gentextid-340.html#ldomssupportedplatforms

cheers
            bjoern

Edited by: Bjoern Rost on Apr 4, 2013 11:46 AM - added link to supported platforms
            • 3. Re: Minimum platform to learn Oracle VM Server SPARC
              thanks, but live migration means I would have two servers, correct ?

Will 2.x or 3.x run on a T2000 server ? I mean some feature may not be available, what confused me is the word "supported", does it mean it won't run or just mean you are on your own if you run 2.x or 3.x on a T2000 server.

thanks
              • 4. Re: Minimum platform to learn Oracle VM Server SPARC
                Bjoern Rost