5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 10, 2013 7:22 AM by Mihael RSS

Few Question on Rac

Hi Experts ,

I am new to the RAC , wanted to clear some doubt : Version 10.2.0.4 , dedicated process
      Their is concept of local listener and Remote Listener in Rac. I understand these are used internally for load balancing. Please correct me If I am wrong.
      If I provide the user tns details and having the enteries of one node (node 1) only and that node ( node 1) is heavily loaded. In that case load balancing takes place at listener level ? If yes How. Since Generally their is shadow process (server process) is created on server after the listener hand shake is done. And that process directly communicated with client process. So In rac if load balancing takes place then how the client will connect to node 2.
      Their is concept of VIP. Generally it is used to provide the High Availability. If the user query is runnning on node 1 and node 1 crashes, without knowing the user it will proccess the query from node 2.
      What kind of query can be executed ? Select , Insert , delete update . I heard that select will be executed but insert delete and update will be failed . Is that correct.

REgards
      Sourabh Gupta
        • 1. Re: Few Question on Rac
          Mihael
          Their is concept of local listener and Remote Listener in Rac. I understand these are used internally for load balancing. Please correct me If I am wrong.
          If I provide the user tns details and having the enteries of one node (node 1) only and that node ( node 1) is heavily loaded. In that case load balancing takes place at listener level ? If yes How.
          You connect to service, not to sid. The service can run on multiple instances. Each instance every minute connects to local and remote listeners (if defined) and updates its services and load. So listener can balance connections among instances.

>