This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Apr 24, 2013 1:24 AM by MahirM.Quluzade RSS

restore primary database using physical standby

Faruk.m Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
hi,

i am taking rman backup on production database,we have physical standby.coming month i have to take backup from standby instead of prod db.pls advise me, is it possible to restore and recover production database using standby database backup.if production crashed.pls advise me .i am new to dba.if possible pls provide proper steps.

Regards
Faruk
  • 1. Re: restore primary database using physical standby
    FreddieEssex Pro
    Is it possible...yes.

There is plenty of stuff on google which will give you the steps. This is the first hit I got on google.

http://alexzeng.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/how-to-use-standby-backup-to-restore-primary-db/

Goes without saying that I would test out the procedure on a test environment first before attempting it on production if I picked up a procedure off the internet.

Why not just create your primary from your standby using dataguard or flashback if you have implemented it?

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/server.112/e17022/scenarios.htm#i1049997
  • 2. Re: restore primary database using physical standby
    MahirM.Quluzade Guru
    Faruk.m wrote:
    hi,

i am taking rman backup on production database,we have physical standby.coming month i have to take backup from standby instead of prod db.pls advise me, is it possible to restore and recover production database using standby database backup.if production crashed.pls advise me .i am new to dba.if possible pls provide proper steps.

Regards
    Faruk
    Hi,

If production database is failed, then you must fail over to standby database, change role to physical and
    continue your work. It is means High Availability.
    Now you can reinstate your old primary, or you can create new physical standby from new primary with duplicate command or etc.