1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: May 2, 2013 12:57 AM by 1005659 RSS

Having trouble creating new connection in SQLDeveloper

When I try to create a new connection in SQLDeveloper, I get the following message:

Status : Failure -Test failed: Listener refused the connection with the following error:
      ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect descriptor

The username and password are the same as the ones I use to connect to sqlplus, right? I am a complete newb to sql, so I would really appreciate if someone could provide a step-by-step solution.
        • 1. Re: Having trouble creating new connection in SQLDeveloper
          jeneesh
          You have given a wrong SID in your connection..

There is a specific forum for SQL Developer {forum:id=260}

Edited by: jeneesh on Apr 26, 2013 11:45 AM
          • 2. Re: Having trouble creating new connection in SQLDeveloper
            Mahir M. Quluzade
            You must check TNSNAMES.ora file on client side.
            • 3. Re: Having trouble creating new connection in SQLDeveloper
              Nitesh.
              You go to command prompt and enter as tnsping your service name .. You will get IP address which is HOST in SQL Developer and you will get port number .. So enter SID,HOST address and port number in SQL developer then try .. Hope it will get connect successfully .. Its i guess you giving service name directly which may be wrong also or else go to oracle home directory and search tnsnames.ora and check your SID properly and then try ..

Regards..

Edited by: 180589 on Apr 26, 2013 11:52 AM
              • 4. Re: Having trouble creating new connection in SQLDeveloper
                EdStevens
                1002656 wrote:
                When I try to create a new connection in SQLDeveloper, I get the following message:

Status : Failure -Test failed: Listener refused the connection with the following error: