This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: May 1, 2013 7:59 AM by user8030589 RSS

Direct Database Request - EBS

user8030589 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am new to OBIEE but have a question regarding Direct Database Request. We have our EBS data stored in the OBIEE Data Warehouse but we'd also like to be able to use some of our Oracle SQL Developer queries against our EBS database directly using OBIEE as the platform.

Is there any issue with having our EBS data in the data warehouse as well as a data source for Direct Database Requests? I read something about security concerns involving write-access. I figure it's easier to use our SQL queries that we have already created than to attempt to map all of the tables and fields into the data warehouse. Also, some of the queries would be nice to have in real-time.

Thx,
Mike
  • 1. Re: Direct Database Request - EBS
    Srini VEERAVALLI Guru
    I dont think there would be any issues, check these
    http://www.rittmanmead.com/2012/06/using-obiee-against-transactional-schemas-part-1-introduction/
    http://obiee100.blogspot.com/2011/07/using-obiee-for-reporting-directly.html
    https://s3.amazonaws.com/rmc_docs/oow2010_bryson_realtime_dw.pdf

mark if helps
  • 2. Re: Direct Database Request - EBS
    Ahsan Shah Expert
    You can do this but note that the EBS queries will be "real time" but the DW will have the ETL latency/lag depending on the frequency of the loads. Overall, nothing wrong with this as long as it does not impact the EBS system performance and you separate these from the DW data that is of a different latency.

Pls mark if helpful
  • 3. Re: Direct Database Request - EBS
    user8030589 Newbie
    thx for the responses.