8 Replies Latest reply: May 2, 2013 12:31 PM by Frank Kulash RSS

Join Confusions

sufiyan
      Hi all,

I am kinda new to oracle and sql (as some of you can tell). However i do know how to join tables but i always get confused and think to myself "did i do it right?". i guess thats because i am not confident enough and i guess thats because my concept is not clear. I just want to know the Dos and Donts when joining tables. I just have one scenario, suppose i have these below tables.

Table1
      Table2
      Table3
      Table4
      Table5
      Table6

Does this look about right?

Table1=Table2
      Table1=Table3
      Table1=Table4
      Table1=Table5
      Table6=Table2

Does this joining of tables look right to you guys?

Ofcourse when i am joining i am joining on matching keys.
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Join Confusions
          jeneesh
          There is nothing technicay wrong in your join..

For n tables there should be atleast n-1 join conditions. And each table should be part in atleast one join condition.And you have that..

Logically, is it correct? To tell that we need to see the data and need to understand the relationships..
          • 2. Re: Join Confusions
            AlbertoFaenza
            Hi,

the correct answer is: maybe!

As we don't know the data model we cannot say that your join conditions are correct.
            We can say however that all table have a join, at least.
            You can also use ANSI syntax when joining table.

i.e.:
            SELECT  {* or list_of_columns_here}
              FROM Table1 t1
                   JOIN Table2 t2 ON (t1.colx = t2.colx)
                   JOIN Table3 t3 ON (t1.colx = t3.colx)
                   JOIN Table4 t4 ON (t1.colx = t4.colx)
                   JOIN Table4 t5 ON (t1.colx = t5.colx)
                   JOIN Table6 t6 ON (t2.coly = t6.coly);
            Maybe this can help you to understand the joining conditions better.

Regards.
            Al