6 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2013 4:20 PM by APC

ORA-03127: no new operations allowed until the active operation ends

bdzevel
      Hello,

I'm a software developer, not an Oracle DBA (not even close), so please excuse the lack of know-how.

Our product runs a lot of stored procedures in the background to do various things. These stored procedures obviously include a ton of select statements, insert statements, etc. Some of them get pretty complex. Once in a while, we run across the following error: "ORA-03127: no new operations allowed until the active operation ends(3127)." Once this happens, pretty much everything breaks with this error for a while. Eventually (LOOOONG time), this error "resolves itself" and things start working again. Conceptually, I understand that there seems to be some blocking operation on the DB, but because we run a LOT of stored procedures and SQL statements, it's extremely difficult to pin this down.

I realize this is a very broad question, but is there any good way to debug this issue? I'll be glad to provide additional information as you see fit. At this point I'm not sure what relevant details I could provide, but if you ask, I will try to accommodate.

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: ORA-03127: no new operations allowed until the active operation ends
          Tubby
          bdzevel wrote:
          Hello,

I'm a software developer, not an Oracle DBA (not even close), so please excuse the lack of know-how.