5 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2013 3:09 PM by krishan Jaglan

Why the sepaete undo is required for separate instance?

user10745179
      Hi,

Im new to oracle rac,we are using the oracle 11.2.0.2.0 on AIX 6,

We have the RAC setup installed. i have one doubt,

& why only single temp tablespace for all instances.?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Why the sepaete undo is required for separate instance?
          Mahir M. Quluzade
          user10745179 wrote:
          Hi,

Im new to oracle rac,we are using the oracle 11.2.0.2.0 on AIX 6,

We have the RAC setup installed. i have one doubt,

& why only single temp tablespace for all instances.?

Thanks
          Hi,

As you know, on Oracle RAC have 2 or more instance. Every instance is contains SGA and Background processes.
          Every blocks changes on SGA (buffer). Need this changes store UNDO. So need every instance (node) own UNDO tablespace
          and online redo logs.

Why need TEMP tablespace? Temp tablespace is using for sort operations.
          Sort operations is come from SQL to database. It is not depends with instance.
          Then 1 TEMP table space is enough for database.

Regards
          Mahir M. Quluzade
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Why the sepaete undo is required for separate instance?
            user10745179
            Hi Mahir,

Thanks for quick response,

but please clear me, if

Every blocks changes on SGA (buffer). Need this changes store UNDO. So need every instance (node) own UNDO tablespace
            and online redo logs.

As undo & redo are stored on shared storage, if one instance fails, Other instance can read the contents from undo & undo the transaction,

Please correct me,
            Im in big confusion,

Thanks
            • 3. Re: Why the sepaete undo is required for separate instance?
              rarain
              Hi,

Excerpt from Oracle documentation.