5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2013 9:46 PM by 1012008

Understanding AWR report - Newbie

Hello all,

I am a newbie to oracle DBA and need help in understanding AWR report. I have a historical AWR and I want to know how to figure out how the DB was doing. What are the parameters in the report I need to look into in the AWR report to make this determination.

Please help
        • 1. Re: Understanding AWR report - Newbie
          Welcome to the forums.
          It is appreciated if you try to use online resources always.
          I just Googled for 'understanding AWR' on your behalf and came up with

http://osamamustafa.blogspot.nl/2012/06/understand-awr-report.html

------------
          Sybrand Bakker
          Senior Oracle DBA
          • 2. Re: Understanding AWR report - Newbie
            Thank You Sybrand for the link.

It explains the most important part of the AWR in a easy to understand.After reading through, I got a pretty good idea about what to look for in AWR report. However I following question w.r.t how to apply these concepts in regards to my AWR reports.

Elasped time : 60 mins
            DB Time : 115 mins
            sessions at the begining of the snap - 67
            sessions at the end of the snap -41

==> Since the DB time less than 2 times the Elasped time for the given number of sessions is this a bottle neck ?
            At what point does it make a bottle neck ( we say that there are active sessions waiting)

Instance Efficiency percentage : This shows all the parameters in that section close to 100. Expect for for Parse CPU to Parse Elapsed % which is 83%
            ==> Is 83% okay?. What are thresholds for these parameters below which we can say that instance efficiency is not good enough?

Shared Pool Stats :
            Memory Usage % : Begin :: 70, End::86 -> I think this is good because it not going beyond 90 %