4 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2013 6:56 PM by user298873 RSS

Creating activities & WBS in P6 Professional R8.2

Hi,

I just get my Primavera P6 Professional R8.2 running on my Windows XP.
      It took me almost a week to get this up and running. I am pretty new to this software. I am also wondering how the activity & WBS in this application are linked together after adding the activity in to the project?

I tried to add 5 activities into the project and once i check in the WBS i don't see any activities in WBS windows. I can only see the total number of activities i.e: 5. Is this what it should be?

I also tried another way, by creating the WBS first then checked in the activity list and i can see whatever created in WBS windows displays in the activity list, however, i cannot modify the start date, finish date, duration in that activity windows.

Could you please advise the right way of how to create the activities, assign activity start and finish date as well as the duration?

Sorry to ask such question and hope you will give me some advise.

Thanks,
      sanlen
        • 1. Re: Creating activities & WBS in P6 Professional R8.2
          MichaelRidino
          The activities and WBS windows are seperate. You should use the WBS view to create your projects WBS then switch over to the activities view to add activities/logic/durations.

Activities cannot be displayed in the WBS view but you can display the WBS in the Activities view.

You can not link or add logic to WBS nodes only activities.

The WBS hierarchy is determined by the user so you can set it up in any order you like. There is not hard logic to it, only what the user wants to see.

Start/Finish dates for the WBS will be determined by the activities in them, you can not directly control WBS dates.
          • 2. Re: Creating activities & WBS in P6 Professional R8.2
            cbaTerry
            You are a brave soul. Kudo's for getting P6 up and running as a new user. There is a lot to know...