11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2013 11:52 PM by user8709910

GridPane class

user8709910
      Dear Friends,

I am new to JavaFX and I am trying to get started with netbeans and javafx. I have the latest netbeans 7.3 and javafx21 installed. But when I am trying to create the object

GridPane grid = new GridPane(); netbeans says cannot find the symbol. This is from the tutorial 2 Creating a Form in JavaFX in http://docs.oracle.com/javafx/2/get_started/form.htm

How can import this class? How can I solve the problem?

THank you
        • 1. Re: GridPane class
          James_D
          Do you have
          import javafx.scene.layout.GridPane ;
          If you have it, and it's not recognized, you have your classpath misconfigured for the project. I'm not a NetBeans user so someone else can probably help you more easily with that.

You should use the most recent version, though. JavaFX 2.1 is old. [url http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jdk7-downloads-1880260.html]Download the latest JDK (1.7.0 update 21 at the time of writing), which includes JavaFX 2.2_xx. JavaFX is bundled with this version; you'll find it in the jre/lib directory, packaged as jfxrt.jar, under the JDK installation directory. I believe NetBeans will find this automatically once it knows where the JDK is.

Edited by: James_D on Jun 6, 2013 2:14 PM (Corrected import statement)
          • 2. Re: GridPane class
            user8709910
            I have the latest version.... when I write import javafx.layout.GridPane ; netbeans says package javafx.layout doesn't exist

Is it any better software I can use to run javafx? What are you using?

I am interesting to develop animations and 3d is the javafx most suitable or some other java version better?

THanks

Edited by: user8709910 on Jun 6, 2013 12:54 PM
            • 3. Re: GridPane class
              shakir.gusaroff
              You have to create your application as Javafx application, not as Java application.