13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2013 6:32 AM by 1011308

How to view logs for execution of query?

I am new to oracle database. I would like to view the history of queries executed by a client application or other users, and the errors occurred during query execution. How to view the logs?

• 1. Re: How to view logs for execution of query?
          Mahir M. Quluzade

Hi,

You can view SQL logs from  V$SQL, V$SQLAREA views.

If error  occurs on execute query, then this query is not logging because, query is not executed.

Regards

Mahir M. Quluzade

• 2. Re: How to view logs for execution of query?
            Karan

If there are any errors first you should look at alert log else SQL Repair advisor is also there, Best is to have 10046 trace and see whats going on for the query, also see http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/server.111/b28310/diag008.htm

Also http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/server.111/b28310/diag003.htm#CHDBCHID

For DDL statements the following parameter is licensed under Oracle Configuration Management Pack ENABLE_DDL_LOGGING: when set to TRUE (default: FALSE)

• 3. Re: How to view logs for execution of query?
              Karan

Also i would suggest you to audit the statements through statement level auditing specially unsuccessful statement auditing , Specify WHENEVER NOT SUCCESSFUL to audit only statements and operations that fail or result in errors.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B19306_01/server.102/b14200/statements_4007.htm#SQLRF01107

• 4. Re: How to view logs for execution of query?
                Karan

Auditing is also a good solution, Specify WHENEVER NOT SUCCESSFUL to audit only statements and operations that fail or result in errors.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B19306_01/server.102/b14200/statements_4007.htm#SQLRF01107

• 5. Re: How to view logs for execution of query?
                  Mahir M. Quluzade

Hi Karan!

Yes, I  agree with you, it is good idea for audit unsuccessful statements with WHENEVER NOT SUCCESSFUL

Regards