5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2013 4:51 PM by InoL

Oracle reports 6i to Oracle forms 10g migration

geekforu

Hi,

I have .rdf files which were created on Oracle Reports 6i. I would like to migrate the .rdf files into Oracle Reports module which is present as a part of Oracle Forms 10g to generate PDF output.

Please let me know the detailed steps to be followed as I am a total newbie. Also I need to generate these reports on demand from a java 5 application (JSF 2.0).

Currently for ORacle reports 6i, I have the following code in my java application

rwrun60.exe g:\tomcat33\webapps\reports\web-inf\src\null userid=***/*** destype=FILE desformat="pdf" paramform=NO printjob=NO batch=YES desname=temp.pdf

1. What would be the equivalent for reports in ORacle Forms 10g ? I know there is an Oracle Apps server where ther report services reside. How to I invoke my report from my java application (residing on a weblogic server 10.3.6)?

2. What ould I do with the 6i .rdf files to upgrade them to 10g ?

• 1. Re: Oracle reports 6i to Oracle forms 10g migration
          InoL

There are tons of documents on the Oracle website (and others) about upgrading from 6i to 10g. Did you look at those?

Please ask a specific question if you experience a problem with the upgrade.

Furthermore, you are not very clear:

What would be the equivalent for reports in ORacle Forms 10g ? ... How to I invoke my report from my java application ...

Are you using Forms or a Java application?

2. What ould I do with the 6i .rdf files to upgrade them to 10g ?

That is simple: just recompile.

• 2. Re: Oracle reports 6i to Oracle forms 10g migration
            geekforu