3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 26, 2013 9:19 AM by BCasa RSS

The Mysterious Disappearing Blob Links

BCasa

Hello, newbie here, be gentle, .

I am using Oracle Apex 4.1, Theme Topaz-4.  I created a form that includes BLOB upload fields if user wants to include attachments.  Table includes blob fields as well as fields for filename, mime type, last update and character set for each blob field.  In the reports, I use the dbms_lob.getlength function in the sql for each blob, and include the download format in the field definition for each blob (ex.

DOWNLOAD:SBR_PROJECT_DETAILS:BUNDLED_YES_DOC_UPLOAD:PROJECT_DETAIL_ID::BUNDLED_YES_MIMETYPE:BUNDLED_YES_FILENAME:attachment:Download

Actual version includes all four associated fields for each blob).  It works great actually, once the file is uploaded a link appears in both the form and the reports.

The problem comes if the form is edited.  The form does not actually update the original record, but inserts a new one with the changes, so that version control is maintained.  The filename, mime type, last update and character set for each blob field is retained in the new record with no problem, however, the links to the uploaded document no longer work.  It is unclear whether the blob data is being overwritten or some other disconnect is happening.  I have not been able to find anything about whether forms with blobs can be edited, or if there is any trick to this that I am somehow missing.  Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: The Mysterious Disappearing Blob Links
          jrimblas

Is your form inserting the new record using the Built In Automatic Row Processing process?

If so, that's the issue.  Your form is saving all the data that was retrieved by the form and the blob is NOT one of those values.  That's why you have the pretty links so that the blob doesn't get pushed to the page every time just in case you need it.