3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2013 7:27 PM by jsmith RSS

How do I create a NetBeans project with multiple JavaFX (FXML) dialogs?

DrDBF

I'm very new to Java and JavaFX, so forgive what is probably a question asked a thousand times, but I can't seem to find the answer.

I come from a Visual Studio (C# with WPF) background. I'm used to creating a Solution then adding a Project for each dialog/window that gets included in the Solution. Each dialog/window is a class derived from Window, and I simply create an instance of that class when I need to use the dialog.

What I need to do is have a main window (stage) that contains two lists of participants (a red team and a blue team).

Then I need a separate dialog for entering the information for the participant. So when a button on the main stage is pressed ("Add Red Participant"), I want to open the ParticipantDialog. When the "OK" or "Close" button on the Participant dialog is clicked, I want the dialog to be able to return a participant object to the main stage.

Then the main stage adds that participant to the appropriate list.

What I've gathered so far is that I will be creating an FXML file for the Participant dialog (and I assume an associated controller). Then when the "Add" button is pressed, I will call an FXMLLoader to load that FXML dialog. Something like this:

FXMLLoader fxmlLoader = new FXMLLoader(getClass().getResource("ParticipantDialog.fxml"));
      Scene scene = (Scene)fxmlLoader.load();

final Stage participantDialog = new Stage();
      participantDialog.setScene(scene);

First question is: is that correct so far? Am I at least on the right track?