I have 2 designs: Design A has a remote object on design B. As long as I have both designs open, and the remote object in B updated, I can do a 'Synchronize remote objects' in design A and the remote object is updated.
Now I save the 2 designs in SVN. A collegue checks out only design A, and does a 'Synchronize remote objects'. Nothing happens.
In my opinion at least a message should be displayed that there are remote objects that can't be synchronized since the design is not available.