This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Aug 29, 2013 8:14 AM by Michael Ferrante (Oracle) RSS

How to run Oracle Forms app on local PC?

user532484 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I am new to Oracle Forms. I installed Oracle Developer Suite. There is an applicaiton on another PC and I copied the applicarion folder (fmx and fmb etc), is there a way to run this app on my pC?

Best Regards.

• 1. Re: How to run Oracle Forms app on local PC?
    Michael Ferrante (Oracle) Guru Moderator

First, I will assume that when you said, "Developer Suite" you meant version 10.x since this was the last release to have a Developer Suite.

So, sure.  You can run those forms on your machine.  Simply install Developer Suite 10.1.2 or Application Server 10.1.2 on your local machine.

Forms applications are like Java applications.  You need the runtime environment in order to run them.  Since an Oracle Forms runtime environment isn't native to any OS, you will need to install one.  iDS or iAS both provide what you need to run the application.  Also important to understand is that the "X" files (fmx, mmx, plx) are not portable.  Meaning, you should not try to move them from the machine on which they were compiled.  It can be done across machines that have exactly the same Operating System and version, but generally this is not recommended nor would it be supported by Oracle.

Finally, you said you were new to Oracle Forms.  Welcome to the family!  You should be aware that Developer Suite is an older product and no longer considered supported.  If you are simply trying to learn Oracle Forms, you are probably fine using this version.  However if you are working on a project for professional reasons, I would recommend moving to the latest version which is 11.1.2.1.  Seems like it only makes sense to learn what's current in my opinion.

• 2. Re: How to run Oracle Forms app on local PC?
    user532484 Newbie

Hi Michael,