9 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2013 10:23 AM by Kamesh RSS

understanding a impdp(remap_tablespace)

Kamesh

Dear Experts,

I am new to Oracle database and trying to understand the IMPDP (remap_tablespace) functionality.Please clear my understanding (it might sound silly,but i m trying to understand the concept here)

By using remap_tablespace in impdp we can move the contents(table,index etc) available in source tablespace to destination tablespace accross different database.

In my testing environment,i have succesfully exported the dump of a tablespace(SOUTHERN_TB which has a schema called southern and has 3 tables)

Now i am trying to import the dump into the new tablespace KAMESH available in same database.so that i can see all the 3 tables imported to KAMESH tablespace.(please correct me if my understanding is wrong!)

When i try to import i am getting the below error.can you please try to make me understand the concept in a better way.

C:\Users\Pranav>impdp directory=Datapump_testing dumpfile=SOUTHERN_TB.DMP schema

s=southern remap_schema=southern:kamesh REMAP_TABLESPACE=SOU

THERN_TB:KAMESH

Import: Release 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on Tue Sep 3 19:27:17 2013

Copyright (c) 1982, 2009, Oracle and/or its affiliates.  All rights reserved.

Username: sys as sysdba

Password:

Connected to: Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.1.0 - 64bit

Production

With the Partitioning, OLAP, Data Mining and Real Application Testing options

ORA-31655: no data or metadata objects selected for job

ORA-39039: Schema expression "IN (SELECT object_name FROM "SYS"."EXPORT_ORA" WHE

RE process_order = -56 AND duplicate BETWEEN 1 AND 1)" contains no valid schemas

Master table "SYS"."EXPORT_ORA" successfully loaded/unloaded

Starting "SYS"."EXPORT_ORA":  sys/******** AS SYSDBA directory=Datapump_testing

dumpfile=SOUTHERN_TB.DMP schemas=southern job_name=export_ora remap_schema=south

ern:kamesh REMAP_TABLESPACE=SOUTHERN_TB:KAMESH