9 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2013 2:03 PM by user12273962 RSS

yum grouplist local Oracle Linux repo

user12273962

I have a CSI for Oracle Linux and I've been syncing a local yum repo for a couple years now. I've started testing out various OL6 installes and need to be able to do a yum groupinstall but I can't seem to get it to work. I know yum grouplist work if I point to the pubic yum server but I can't seem pull the right channel or information to get it to work with my local repo.

What do I need in my local repo to get the grouplist to work by syncing my repo with Oracle?

Thanks

• 1. Re: yum grouplist local Oracle Linux repo
          WadhahDaouehi

Hi,

Firstly, mount your DVD/CD iso on one location (for example /mnt)

# mount -o ro,loop /dev/sr0 /mnt

Secondly, Create your own repo file.

# cd /etc/yum.repo.d/
          # vi local-repo.repo
          [local-repo]
          baseurl=file:///mnt/Server
          enabled=1
          gpgcheck=1
          gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-oracle

Finally, If you don't have the command createrepo, so install it.

# yum install createrepo

Prepare the environment to the yum grouplist

# cd /etc/yum.repo.d/
          # createrepo .
          # yum clean all && yum makecache
          # yum grouplist

then, Enjoy your self.

I hope this can help you

Best Regards

• 2. Re: yum grouplist local Oracle Linux repo
            user12273962

I appreciate the response but I've seen those instruction a thousand times. That is not what I am asking. I am not looking to extract the contents of the DVD into a repo. I have an existing repo. I've had for 2 years. I sync it with Oracle's repo. The sync process does not copy the group listings. If I point to the source repo, I get the grouplistings. If I point to my repo it doesn't. The sync process does not pull the grouplistings. Its is that simple. How do I pull the grouplistings from Oracle's repo I am using????