1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Nov 28, 2013 3:41 AM by Madonna RSS

Not able to perform computation on Non Database Column in Tabular Form

Madonna

Hi All,

I have a Master and a Detail Tabular Form which has the following requirement:

• If I choose Two Way in my Trip Type item in my Master form,the  No of Tickets field in my Detail Tabular form has to get doubled ie. 2*No of tickets
      • The No of Tickets is a Display as Text(does not save state) field so I am not able to select the value of the field in jquery.

Kindle help me with this.

Thanks and Regards,

Madonna

• 1. Re: Not able to perform computation on Non Database Column in Tabular Form
          B.Delmée

How about something like the following (where ADHOC is your text column):

function adhoc_double() {

var iter = $('td[headers="ADHOC"]');

for (var idx = 0; idx < iter.length; idx++) {

var i = parseInt($(iter[idx]).text());

if (! isNaN(i)) $(iter[idx]).text(2*i);

}

}

Include this in the "javascript" section of your page properties, then hook it up  as a dynamic action when your "round trip" select list changes value.

• 2. Re: Not able to perform computation on Non Database Column in Tabular Form
            Nicolette

Madonna

Madonna wrote:

The No of Tickets is a Display as Text(does not save state) field so I am not able to select the value of the field in jquery.

So you don't want a computation that works server site but a dynamic action that works client side.

Of course you can get to the "values" of the No of Tickets column just not using an id or name attribute.

Most report templates use a headers attribute in the TD element.

And since it is a display only field you have to change the innerHTML instead of the value.

Since getting the right selector for the No of Tickets seems to be the problem. And the selector is dependable on your report templates and column aliases etc., it is best to use apex.oracle.com to show what you have so far so we can help you further.