12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2014 3:33 PM by Joni Vandenberghe

Can APEX uniquely identify a PC (like mac address) ?

bhatt t

Hi,

Orace XE 11.2

APEX 4.0.2.0

I am new to APEX and want to know that can APEX uniquely identify a PC (like mac address..) ?

This is because that if I give my application to a user to install on his single PC, it should not be install on other PC.

Please guide me how can I link APEX with a PC's configuration ?

Thanks/Regds.

Bhatt.

• 1. Re: Can APEX uniquely identify a PC (like mac address) ?
          Mike Kutz

This is because that if I give my application to a user to install on his single PC, it should not be install on other PC.

This does not make sense.

APEX system is used to develop web based application similar to Amazon.com

An APEX Application does not get installed on a PC/MAC (like MS Word) but is accessed by PC/MAC/Linux/Android/iOS/Amiga/IRIX/AIX/Plan 9/etc based machines through the use of a Web Browser.

Please explain your requirements (in detail), not "how" you want to solve it.

MK

• 2. Re: Can APEX uniquely identify a PC (like mac address) ?
            bhatt t

Hi Mike Kutz,

See, if I develop a desktop application in APEX and sale it to my customer to install it on his single particular PC, then I want that my customer could not be able to install/run it on some other PC without notifying me. For this, I want to make a lock system in  my  application,  which  uniquely  identify a  system (like ip address, mac address, some hidden file etc.) before installing/run on a PC i.e. my application can run/install on a PC only after passing some checks.

Hope you understand my problem, so please guide me.

Thanks with regards,

Bhatt.

• 3. Re: Can APEX uniquely identify a PC (like mac address) ?
              fac586

bhatt t wrote:

See, if I develop a desktop application in APEX and sale it to my customer to install it on his single particular PC