1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Mar 10, 2005 12:32 PM by 428490 RSS

Sample update/ insert Trigger code

Hello every one,
      I'm an intern and I'm new to triggers programming.
      I've a java application that ping the SAP System. So now I want to develop a trigger so that when ever some tables in an external oracle db are updated or an insert is done in these tables , the trigger should fire and call the java application to ping the SAP system. Is there any sample code out there that can accomplish my task? or is there a tutorial out there which can help me accomplish this? This is urgent please. Any Help will be highly apprciated.

Also could you help me explain where to place the trigger(presume on the database some where but I do not now) and how to call( or invoke the java app. from the trigger?) the trigger in the java app.

Thank you all.

Paddyman
        • 1. Re: Sample update/ insert Trigger code
          Given the above description which is suitable: Trigger, Procedure or a function?

The idea is after an insert, update or delete on an oracle table(s) a java application should be called to ping the SAP System. Help me please.
          • 2. Re: Sample update/ insert Trigger code
            JustinCave
            I'm assuming that, in general, you're rather unfamiliar with PL/SQL and Oracle, since you're not familiar with triggers and you're an intern...

First, I'd double-check that this is actually your assignment. It's not a particularly straightforward problem to solve and will almost certainly require discussions with DBA's to grant you privileges you don't have and to install components that may not be installed currently. This isn't something I would tend to give to an intern that wasn't already pretty proficient with PL/SQL.