1 2 3 Previous Next 71 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2013 6:30 PM by Karan Kukreja

Is it Worth to be DBA?

Hello Friends...
      First of all m sorry if m posting in a wrong section....

I am in last year of Computer Programmer Analyst program... have big interest in databases. Thought having Orcale certification would boost my career. But once i was on few job sites.. I searched for DBA positions and didnt find many. Moreover all the jobs that were listed there asked for atleast couple of years of experience. So from where would the freshers start? ... well here are my questions..

1) - Is it worth to be a DBA as compared to other jobs like netwrking or programming?
      2) - From where would Freshers or people with no experience start?
      3) - How much can we earn with 0-2 years experience?
      4) - How to find jobs that ask for people wich 0-2 years experience.

These are some questions that I can think of at the moment. Sorry again in acse its a wrong forum. I would welcome any kind of help in regarding this post of mine. It would help me make a career for myself.

Thanks
      GARRY
        • 1. Re: Is it Worth to be DBA?
          APC
          What units do you measure "worth" in? Monetary, long term career prospects, intellectual stimulus, value to the community?

Cheers, APC
          • 2. Re: Is it Worth to be DBA?
            Hi,

1) - Is it worth to be a DBA as compared to other jobs like netwrking or programming?
            Worth? Well... yes? As for me it's an interresting job, you're at a key point in ITs. Where data is, and data is the core of any company. Of course you have to love over-hours, cold dishes and soft drinks (openned many hours ago of course).

2) - From where would Freshers or people with no experience start?