2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2005 12:46 PM by 461680

Novice question - How does Oracle Interconnect, BPEL and adapters differ?

Okay, I am a novice at this. I've been reading about Interconnect, AS 10g, BPEL and various adapters. My question is how do they fit in into the overall scheme of things? Fundamentally what I am looking for is a way to interact from a Oracle db to IMS screens on a mainframe. I've found something about IMS/TM adapters and I am wondering if I use Interconnect to connect Oracle db to anything.. why would I need an adapter... then again is it Interconnect or BPEL?

I am hoping someone will show me the light.

Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: Novice question - How does Oracle Interconnect, BPEL and adapters differ?
          Now that no one at Oracle has answered this very relevant question I'll take wild shot at this one.
          First of all: Adapters in Interconnect and BPEL do not work together and there is no integration of the two products whatsoever. BPEL has its own connectivity technology and it seems to evolve unlike Interconnect that still has no WS and JDBC adapter.

Second: I'm not sure that you would gain anything in using integrationmiddleware in this single scenario.

Third: Choosing between BPEL and Interconnect is conceptually easy but quite hard in practice. BPEL (the standard) conceptually is really not an integration solution but rather a SOA orchestration standard.
          However, Oracle has put some integration support in their BPEL tool (connectivity and transformation). This allows you to use BPEL as a lightweight, standards based integration tool. But if you have a lot of business critical integration or very complex scenarios (like reading or writing a complex proprietary file format) Interconnect will be a more scaleable and reliable solution.